August 2010



9781603094009 (1)

9781603094023 (1)







THE MARCH SERIES              
by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin
Illustrated by Nate Powell

To request a complimentary examination copy to review for classroom use, please contact us at or call us toll free at (844) 851-3955.

A remarkable, award-winning graphic memoir trilogy tracing the life of U.S. Congressman John Lewis during his early years as a civil-rights activist.

The series traces the history of the Civil Rights Movement, zeroing in on the nonviolent protest of segregation laws, the Freedom Riders’ travels across the South, and the historic march on Selma, Alabama, in 1963. Book Three is the first graphic memoir to win the National Book Award for Young People’s Literature.

Since we launched our blog last summer, we have received some wonderful and helpful feedback from teachers around the country. We thought we would take the opportunity to share one teacher’s thoughtful letter, below.

Educational blogs abound on the Internet, ranging from the mundane to the absurd.  The RHI Magazine on the Web is a refreshing educational blog.  I read this blog on a weekly basis.  I find it useful for many reasons.  First, it provides me information on current releases of popular fiction that may be of interest to my students.  For instance, I recently became acquainted with Matthew Pearl and his literary inspired series featuring The Dante Club, The Poe Shadow, and The Last Dickens.  After acquiring these books for my classroom, I was amazed at how quickly they left my classroom bookshelf.  They were enjoyed by numerous students and other members of my department.  Students find the references to the authors’ lives in these books fascinating.  Most of them are first drawn to The Poe Shadow because of Poe’s popularity among high school students but then eagerly read The Last Dickens. (more…)